Two or three years ago, I bought Don’t Starve. I didn’t play it much at the time, maybe a week or two mixed in with a couple other games. (I was more involved with Borderlands 2 and its DLCs at the time, since I had friends I could actively play that with, and they weren’t interested in Don’t Starve.)

Mostly I remember not being very good at it, but it seemed fun enough. During that time, I died to a specific version of a thing called a Set Piece. Those are randomized pre-set things, either little bonus items or, more often, traps.

This one was a large walled-in area which looked perfect for a beginner’s base, and it had a sort of hallway entrance. There was also a chest at the entrance. This seemed pretty good, and I looked in the chest. It exploded into flames, and took the wooden walls with it. Also me, because it took a second to explode, and I’d been putting my things in the chest just before it blew. I was already hurt from a fight with something or other (I had yet to learn how to kite most things in the game) and I burned to death.

About a month ago, I started playing Don’t Starve again, and I found that same set piece. I remembered the exploding chest, so I left a few stacks of things well away from the walls and chest and went inside to grab the fur inside, which was only interesting because I hadn’t found any Beefalo yet. I then planned to hammer down the walls for the wood, when night fell. I noticed I didn’t have a torch, and I’d accidentally left all my grass and twigs outside, instead of half of each like I thought I had.

The darkness got me, and so I died again to the same trap, in a different and particularly stupid way since I knew to always carry a light source or ways to make some.

Leave a Reply

